On 1 January 2012, the National Quality Framework will be established and will apply to long day care, family day care, preschool(or kindergarten) and outside school hours care services. The National Quality Framework aims to raise quality and drive continuous improvement and consistency in education and care services through:

  • a National legislative framework
  • a National Quality Standard
  • a National quality rating and assessment process
  • a new National body called the Australian Children’s Education and Care Quality Authority.

The National Quality Framework was introduced on 1 January 2012 with key requirements being phased in overtime. Requirements such as qualification, educator to child ratios and other key staffing arrangements will be phased by and 2020.

The National legislative framework is established through an applied laws system and consists of:

  • The Education and Care Services National Law
  • The Education and Care Services National regulations.

A Regulatory Authority in each state and territory will be primarily responsible for administering the National Quality Framework, including approving, monitoring and quality assessing services. It will be the first point of contact for services.

A new National body- the Australian Childrens Education and Care Quality Assurance- will oversee the National Quality Framework and ensure the consistent and effective implementation of the new system.


National Quality Standard.

The National Quality Standard sets a new benchmark for the quality of education and care services. The National Quality Standard is divided into seven Quality Areas:

  1. Educational program and practise
  2. Childrens health and safety
  3. Physical environment
  4. Staffing arrangements
  5. Relationships with Children
  6. Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  7. Leadership and service management

The National Quality Standard aims to promote:

  • The safety, health and wellbeing of children
  • A focus on achieving outcomes for children through high-quality educational programs
  • Families ’understanding of what distinguishes a quality service.

National Quality Rating and Assessment Process

Approved services will be assessed and rated against each of the seven Quality Areas of the National Quality Standard and the National Regulations.


"It has been a rewarding and even challenging life experience becoming committed to Family Day Care in our home.  My wife, Geraldine has embraced this commitment 100% and I now understand the real b..."

View all Testimonials

Latest News

Parent Newsletter Feb 2016

09 Feb 2016

Parent Newsletter Feb 2016 Parent Newsletter February ...